Changes for the Trust’s schools in Yate, South Gloucestershire

Yate Academy has separated into Woodlands Primary School and Yate Academy (Secondary).

Following approval from the Department for Education, the Greenshaw Learning Trust’s all-through school, Yate Academy, separated into Woodlands Primary School and Yate Academy (Secondary) on 1 September 2019. The schools now operate as separate schools within the Greenshaw Learning Trust, each with their own Headteacher, leadership team and local governing body.
This change ensures the schools have specialist leaders and governors who provide the necessary skills and expertise to drive forward further improvements under the umbrella of the Greenshaw Learning Trust.
The strong relationship that exists between the two schools will continue, along with their connection to Tyndale Primary School in Yate, which joined the Greenshaw Learning Trust on 1 June 2019. The governors, leadership teams, teachers and support staff of all three schools will be closely collaborating to share good practice and build on recent successes.
From 1 September 2019, Kirsty Borrill, the previous head of Woodlands Primary School, became Interim Headteacher at Tyndale Primary School, and Rachel Dean, the current deputy head at Woodlands, became Acting Headteacher at Woodlands Primary School. Izzy Ambrose will continue as the Headteacher at Yate Academy.
The three schools will have separate local governing bodies working closely within the Greenshaw Learning Trust. From 1 September 2019 the Chair of Governors at Yate Academy will be Nicola Murley; at Tyndale Primary School, Mary Hutton; and at Woodlands Primary School, Lee Howe.